Messi, Ronaldo, Neymar : The final Ballon d’Or shortlist

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar will contest for the prestigious Ballon d’Or for the year 2015 after making into the final of the competition after the shortlist was trimmed down from 23 names to just three.

Barcelona play-maker Lionel Messi is a heavy favourite to win the the accolade this year after leading Barcelona to a famous treble in the 2014-15 season.

Portuguese starlet Cristiano Ronaldo is the current holder of the Ballon d’Or and is level with Messi, after winning the crown four times each.

Now Messi is a perfect position to get past Ronaldo, if he will be picked as the eventual winner at the the ceremony to be held in Zurich on January 11, 2016.

The third finalist Neymar, netted 10 goals in Bracelona’s Champions League winning season, including a goal in the final against Juventus in Berlin. He was also the the joint-third top scorer in La Liga last season with 22 goals.

In the current season the Brazilian is flying in top colors and and already scored 14 times for the Blaugrana and his partnership with Suarez is highly praised by football pundits from around the world.

Now this is the sixth straight year, the final three-man shortlist for Ballon d’Or does not include a single Premier League player. The last man to sneak into the final list was was Frank Lampard in 2005.

While for the FIFA Coach-Of-The Year, Barcelona head coach Luis Enrique will battle it out with compatriot and Bayern Munich coach Pep Guardiola alongside Chile National team-coach Jorge Sampaoli.

The women’s nominee for the prize are the USA’s Carli Lloyd, Japan’s Aya Miyama and Germany’s Celia Sasic.